

2025 Dorothy Bowles Award for Outstanding Public Service

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2025 Dorothy Bowles Award for Outstanding Public Service.

The Dorothy Bowles Award for Outstanding Public Service recognizes an AEJMC member who has a sustained and significant public-service record that has helped build bridges between academics and professionals in mass communications, either nationally or locally, and been actively engaged within the association.

Ideally the award will go to an AEJMC member who has been active in one or more divisions/interest groups, elected standing committees or other association leadership positions AND who has engaged with other communication industry-related organizations (such as the Student Press Law Center, Society of Professional Journalists, Journalism Education Association, Public Relations Society of America, National Association of Broadcasters, etc.) OR done other work locally to promote interaction between academics and professionals.

When merited, one award will be presented per year. The recipient will receive \$1,000 in cash and an award plaque.

The award will be presented during AEJMC's annual conference.

Nomination criteria:

- 1. The nominee must have been an AEJMC member for the past three years.
- 2. The nominee must have a sustained and significant record of public service to AEJMC; and must have a sustained and significant record of service to programs or activities that promote connections between the academy and JMC industries (either on nominee's home campus, or through other professional-based associations).
- 3. The nominee must have been a full-time classroom teacher (not an administrator) for at least the past 10 years and teach in an area of journalism/mass communication.
- 4. The nominee cannot have been previously recognized or honored by AEJMC for public service.
- 5. The nominee cannot have served on the AEJMC Board of Directors for the past four years.

Previous winners include:

- 2024 Chris Roberts, Alabama
- 2023 Matthew Ragas, DePaul

- 2022 Joe Grimm, Michigan State
- 2021 Sharon Bramlett-Solomon, Arizona State
- 2020 Bill Cassidy, Northern Illinois, and Carol Holstead, Kansas
- 2019 Jan Leach, Kent State
- 2018 Donald K. Wright, Boston
- 2017 Sandra Utt, Memphis
- 2016 Rosental Alves, Texas at Austin
- 2015 Wat Hopkins, Virginia Tech
- 2014 Don W. Stacks, Miami
- 2013 Judy VanSlyke Turk, Virginia Commonwealth
- 2012 Candace Perkins Bowen, Kent State (first)

Nominations, including self-nominations, should contain a two-page letter that describes the nominee's service to both areas of public service; two additional letters of support affirming the nominee's service (one from each area); a 500-word statement from the nominee describing the nominee's views on how public service activities (in general or the nominee's particular service activities) complement the traditional teaching, research and service roles of higher education faculty; and full vita of the nominee.

Nominations should be received by 5 PM EST on **March 1, 2025**. Send nominations via email to Lillian Coleman at lillian@aejmc.org. For questions, contact Lillian Coleman at lillian@aejmc.org.