

Paul J. Deutschmann Award for Excellence in Research

Nominations are due December 15, 2024.

The Paul J. Deutschmann Award for Excellence in Research recognizes a body of significant research over the course of an individual's career. The award is named in honor of Paul J. Deutschmann, who developed the College of Communication Arts at Michigan State University. It serves as the AEJMC Research Award, recognizing the top scholars in the association who have made a major impact on the research of the field during their career. The Deutschmann Award is based on demonstrable influence on the field and is therefore not necessarily awarded every year. To be considered for the 2025 award, nominations must be received by December 1.

Nomination packets should include a letter describing the ways that the nominee's contributions shaped the field of journalism and communication, focusing on how the nominee has impacted the specific area of their research and the broad field of journal ism and communication.

The AEJMC Standing Committee on Research encourages the consideration and nomination of diverse candidates for this award, including women and persons from underrepresented groups. In addition, the nomination packet should include the nominee's C.V. and eight to ten letters of support from colleagues who can attest to the candidate's qualifications for the award. Nominators should represent a range of institutions and perspectives on the nominee's accomplishments and influence.

Recent recipients of the award include (2024) Wayne Wanta, Florida; (2023) Jane Singer, City University of London; (2022) Annie Lang, Indiana; (2021) Glen Cameron, Missouri; (2020) Dan Riffe, North Carolina at Chapel Hill; (2019) Esther Thorson, Michigan State; (2018) Shyam Sundar, Penn State; (2017) Stephen Reese, Texas at Austin; (2015) Pamela Shoemaker, Syracuse; (2013) Lee Becker, Georgia; (2011) Sharon Dunwoody, Wisconsin-Madison; (2010) Stephen Lacy, Michigan State; and (2009) David Weaver, Indiana.

Nomination letters and packets and questions for the Deutschmann Award should be submitted electronically in a single PDF file to Deutschmann Award Committee Chair at Research@aejmc.org.