

## **Eleanor Blum Distinguished Service to Research Award**

## Nominations are due December 15, 2024.

The Blum Research Award was created to recognize people who have devoted substantial parts of their careers to promoting research in mass communication. It is under the purview of AEJMC's Elected Standing Committee on Research. It is named in honor of its first recipient, the late Eleanor Blum, a long-time communications librarian at the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign.

The Blum Award is not necessarily given every year, but nominations received by December 15 will be considered for the 2025 award.

Nomination packets should include the following: • a letter describing the nominee's contributions in the area of the award; • the nominee's C.V.; and • at least five additional letters of support (preferably more) from colleagues who can attest to the candidate's qualifications.

The AEJMC Elected Standing Committee on Research encourages the consideration and nomination of diverse candidates for this award, including women and persons from underrepresented groups. Nominators should represent a range of institutions and perspectives on the nominee's accomplishments.

Recent previous winners include (2024) Cliff Christians, Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Patricia Moy, Washington; (2023) Patricia Moy, Washington; (2021) Louisa Ha, Bowling Green State; (2020) Linda Steiner, Maryland; (2019) Melvin DeFleur, Louisiana State (posthumously); (2017) Esther Thorson, Michigan State; (2016) Paula Poindexter, Texas at Austin; (2014) Dan Riffe, North Carolina at Chapel Hill; (2008) Maurine Beasley, Maryland; (2007) Patrick Washburn, Ohio; (2006) James W. Tankard, Jr., Texas at Austin (posthumously); (2005) Margaret Blanchard, North Carolina (posthumously); and (2004) Everette E. Dennis, Fordham.

Nomination packets and letters and questions for the Blum Award should be submitted electronically in a single PDF file to the Blum Award Committee chair, at Research@aejmc.org.